top of page
Search

Why did I choose International Studies?

Updated: Apr 7, 2020


I chose to study International Studies because it is universal, providing me the chance to educate myself in multiple disciplines. I never wanted to be solely another business, sales, marketing, or communications major. I wanted more. Nor, did those topics intrigue me as much as learning about the world and its different dimensions. Pursuing a degree in International Studies came with a lot of opportunity and is very open-ended because of its interdisciplinary nature. I already had the foreign language requirements, providing me with a steady background in IS. I have gained so much from my International Studies courses including knowledge about different aspects of international relations, the economy, international business, anthropological concepts, foreign language skills, current issues and how to deal with them both in my community and on a global spectrum. Most importantly, I gained clarity about what I want for my future. Along with my coursework, I received international education through my semester abroad in Spain. My study abroad experience, amongst all of my coursework, has contributed so much to who I have become and the skills that I now encompass. I have gained immense knowledge about the world in many different realms. I also learned how to act outside of my comfort zone; having to take classes in  disciplines that didn’t always spark my interest and living in a foreign country. I gained valuable skills, a lot of those which I attribute to my study abroad experience. You can read about those in detail in my Global Scholar section!

"No one ever made a difference by being like everyone else" -Unknown

bottom of page