top of page
Search

Coursework: Valuable or Not?

Updated: Apr 7, 2020



The coursework that I have taken throughout my college career is very versatile ranging from language courses, to International Studies related courses, to business and finance and general education. Here are a list of significant courses that I took and which ones I found the most valuable.


My gender studies classes: (Archaeology of Gender, Gender, Place, and Culture)

  • Gender and social identities are becoming more important in how we look at societies today. They have an influence on political, social, cultural, personal, and economic environments. These environments must be thoroughly evaluated in order to fully grasp the changing landscape of social and gender identities. I have become more aware of how to deal with these situations and learned how different places interact with gender and other social identities around the world. 

Contemporary International Issues:

  • This class is the basis for International Studies and the basic concepts such as what a state is, the differences between developed and developing states, and current global issues, are some that I will never forget. This course was essential for comprehending the rest of my international-based courses. 

Spanish courses:

  • Not only did I walk away with more advanced language skills, but I learned so much about Spanish culture, history, literature, and some of the differences between regions such as South American language versus European. 

Multinational Corporations:

  • This was one of my favorite courses that I took which came as a surprise to me. I did not think International Business would be so interesting to me. I loved this class and learned so much about how culture and region play a role in International Business. I found it very interesting learning about how different cultures interact in a business setting and the role of sustainability in the work of corporations, for example.

Other non- IS classes like Native North America:

  • There were a few classes I had to take for general credit that were super valuable to my education. One class in particular that changed my outlook on our history and Native American populations was my Native North America class, an Anthropology course. I took so much away from this class including how to deal with stereotypes, knowledge about Native American culture, how it relates to the rest of America, and how I can make a difference in society knowing the truth of our history. 

These classes spark my interest the most. I love learning about culture and ways of life in different regions of the world and also how cultures and different people interact. A lot of my courses contributed to my overall liberal arts education which showed me the importance of staying up to date on what is happening in the world, the importance of understanding how to learn, and how we learn from experience sometimes more than just textbooks and writing papers. We may never remember exactly what we learned in these classes, but we will never forget how to apply ourselves and work hard. 

bottom of page